top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTayden Bundy

The Haunted Farmhouse

Updated: Jul 31, 2019

Personal Ghost Stories from Nebraska Special Feature


Photo Credit - Sarah Stream Photography

The house no longer stands, but I still live on the property. I'd have to say that most of the activity stopped when the house was torn down, so I am guessing it was attached to the house.


I lived in this old farmhouse from the age of five until about ten. During this time, I had a number of experiences with spirits or odd things happening. I'd have to do some research, but I think the house was built in the 1920's. It was more or less your typical foursquare farmhouse with three bedrooms upstairs, the main floor, and a dirt basement. Everything pretty much happened upstairs in the bedroom I shared with my sister or in the spare room across the way.


The major phenomenon was that every now and then, there would be a glowing orb that would show up in our room. We would generally notice it in the middle of the night. It would show up on full moon nights and moonless nights alike. There was no outside light coming in, so it was not that. Looking back, I'd have to say it was probably the size of a baseball. It glowed yellow but did not give off light. It would float in the middle of our door for a few minutes and then eventually travel through our bedroom and float out a window. It never did anything to anyone, though I had a friend over once and she said it floated across her arm and it felt very cold. My sister and I named it the One-Eyed Monster. That was probably the most active of the spirits. I do know my sister saw it once in the new house, but I am pretty sure that was before the old one was demolished.


There was one time in particular, I remember I woke up in the middle of the night and my bed was by a window overlooking our clothesline. I remember looking out, for whatever reason, and there was an older woman out there hanging up laundry. She appeared to be around the age of 60 or so. She was dressed in a pioneers dress, of course it was at night, but it seemed to be black, or at least a dark color. I think she was hanging up sheets or towels. She most definitely saw me because she looked up at me and smiled. And that is when I laid back down and covered my head and went back to sleep... or passed out from fright. When I woke up the next morning and looked out, there were no clothes on the lines.


Occasionally "doors" would show up on our walls. I never tried to open them. I don't recall there ever being any poltergeist like activity or anything with all of this.


Probably for me, the scariest things that happened were when I tried to leave the bedroom I shared with my sister and sleep in the spare room. Both times I would have horrific nightmares. Usually about something hunting me in the house and trying to kill me. Something was chasing me through the house. I was alone and I would go and try and hide in cupboards or closets but every time I got to each hiding spot it would already be in the spot waiting for me. I could see the doors move and hear a deep masculine voice whispering to me that it was waiting to kill me. Two separate nights of that kind of dream and I was done. The only time I ever had those kinds of dreams was in that room. I never saw the entity, only heard the voice. I only tried twice to have my own room, but I'm not fond of nightmares, or the feeling the room gave off.


I wonder if the spirits still linger around the area the house was on. Someday, maybe, I'll get the time and nerve to check it out.



All photos courtesy of Sarah Stream Photography

Check out Sarah Stream Photography @ https://www.paranormaniaofficial.com


129 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page